Passive scalar interface in a spatially evolving mixing layer (A. Attili and D. Denker)

Quartz nozzle sampling (D. Felsmann)

Dissipation element analysis of a planar diffusion flame (D. Denker)

Turbulent/non-turbulent interface in a temporally evolving jet (D. Denker)

Dissipation elements crossing a flame front (D. Denker and B. Hentschel)

Particle laden flow (E. Varea)

Turbulent flame surface in non-premixed methane jet flame (D. Denker)

DNS of primary break up (M. Bode)

Diffusion flame in a slot Bunsen burner (S. Kruse)

Various quantities in spatially evolving jet diffusion flame (D. Denker)

OH layer in a turbulent wall bounded flame (K. Niemietz)

An Experimental Data Set for Turbulent Premixed Flames

Overview of the Data Set

Detailed flame/flow structures have been measured in three highly stretched turbulent Bunsen flames of stoichiometric methane/air mixture. The jet Reynolds numbers are 23600, 39400, and 51200 based on the mean exit velocity and the nozzle diameter. Measurements were taken at several axial positions starting from 30 mm above the burner exit to downstream positions where no continuous flame fronts can be detected. The complete data set includes flame temperature, mean and rms flow velocities, and concentration of all the major species and OH/CH radicals. The three-dimensional mean flamesurface density derived with the G-equation approach is also made available.
This experimental work was conducted here in Institut fuer Technische Mechanik, RWTH Aachen in collaboration with Prof. Mohy Mansour from the American University of Cairo, Egypt. This data set is now made public for downloading on this server. These data can be used for the purpose of validating state-of-the-art combustion models, with particular interest in fundamental issues of turbulence-chemistry interaction. Discussion and analysis of the data can be found in Chen et al.[1] and other references mentioned in a ReadMe file saved in the compressed data archives. The ReadMe files also contain the necessary information regarding the data file structure.

[1] Y.-C. Chen, N. Peters, G. A. Schneemann, N. Wruck, U. Renz, and M. S. Mansour, "The detailed flame structure of highly stretched turbulent premixed methane-air flames," Combustion and Flame, Vol. 107,pp. 223-244, 1996. 

Data Download


Institut für Technische Verbrennung
RWTH Aachen University
Templergraben 64
52056 Aachen

Tel:  +49 (0)241 80-94607
Fax: +49 (0)241 80-92923

Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat: 09-12 Uhr


  • Ercoftac Da Vinci Award 2022
    The ERCOFTAC da Vinci Prize for young researchers is awarded annually in recognition of an excellent PhD thesis among all ERCOFTAC pilot centers in theoretical and applied fluid dynamics and outstanding scientific contributions with engineering applications. In particular, Da Vinci Jury decides on a shortlist of 5 finalists that present their work at the Autumn Festival, which just took place on last Thursday in Lyon. Dr.-Ing Lukas Berger is chosen as the winner of this year award. He is awarded Da Vinci medal, a certificate, and a cash prize of 1000 Euro.
  • André-Jaumotte-Lehrstuhlinhaber (2021-2022)
    ITV-Institusleiter Prof. Heinz Pitsch hat den erstmals vergebenen André-Jaumotte-Lehrstuhl der Königlich-Belgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften für die Jahre 2021-2022 erhalten.
  • 19. April 2021
    Zwei der Artikel des 38. Combustion Symposium, die von Forschern des ITV gemeinsam verfasst wurden, wurden mit dem Distinguished Paper Award ausgezeichnet. Wir gratulieren allen Autoren dieser Artikel und den Autoren aller angesehenen Artikel zu dieser Anerkennung
  • 26.Oct-6.Nov 2020
    Raik Hesse, Dr. Chaimae Bariki und Projektleiter Dr. Joachim Beeckmann verbrachten einen Forschungsaufenthalt am Zentrum für angewandte Raumfahrttechnologie und Mikrogravitation (kurz: ZARM) in Bremen.
  • 16-25. Sep 2020
    Dr. Joachim Beeckmann nimmt am 35. DLR Parabelflug - Forschung in Schwerelosigkeit - teil.
  • 08. Juli 2020
    Veröffentlichung Positionspapier: "Energiewende: verlässlich, machbar, technologie offen"
  • 19. Mai 2020
    Prof. Pitsch erhält AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award
  • 11. Mai 2020
    Prof. Alberto Cuoci erhält das Humboldt-Forschungsstipendien für erfahrene Wissenschaftler
  • 29. April 2020
    Dr. Ren erhält Bernard Lewis Fellowship